Newbie Here - Tons of Questions

Where new Keepers can ask "stupid" questions without fear of hazing.
sanjuro
Freshman
Freshman
Newbie Here - Tons of Questions

Post by sanjuro » Mon Dec 12, 2016 8:07 pm

Hey Everyone,

My name is Michael and I am not only a CoC newb, but an RPG newb! I got into this kind of late, I am 32 years old, but have extensive video gaming experience playing competitive games professionally (cs 1.6 and dota) for over 15 years. My wife and I got into the board game hobby last year then I discovered CoC and holy smokes. I am currently developing an original screenplay to option as well as starting work as a voice actor. Needless to say, the idea of role-playing in a horror setting made me regret not having these kinds of friends growing up. Well here I am now and I have no idea what I am doing! I have played a little DnD 5th edition with a few people but that is it. I purchased 7th Edition CoC bundle at Chaosim that comes with the investigators handbook, keepers shield and supplement book. I have read through most of the 7th edition book and am working on the investigators handbook how. I quickly realized I have run into some problems. One, none of my friends or family (besides my wife) are interested in CoC let along RPGS. I have no real creative friends and it proves really hard to find some people in the part of L.A. that I live (south bay). I have tried Meet-up but they are mostly into path finder and board games. So I need some help...

Where should I go to play CoC, even if it's online - where would I find people who would be willing to let me play a campaign with them?

What are some good cons or events, possibly on the west coast, that I can attend to meet more people?